Three teams waited 129 years… The end of the Korea-U.S.-Japan ‘fall baseball’?

There are six franchises in Major League Baseball that have never won a World Series championship ring, and the oldest is the Texas Rangers.
Founded in 1961, they didn’t win their first American League East title until 1996, and their first World Series appearance came in 2010.

In the 2011 World Series, their second straight, they were upset by the Angels.

Texas, which led St. Louis 3-2 in Game 6, gave up a 7-5 lead in the bottom of the ninth inning when David Freese tripled with runners on second and third to tie the game and force extra innings, losing 9-10.

It was the last World Series for the Rangers, who fell short of their first championship with a heartbreaking Game 7 loss.
Texas returned to the World Series this year and finally won the title after sweeping Arizona 4 games to 1 on the second day.

With the Chicago Cubs’ Curse of the Goat and the Boston Red Sox’ Curse of the Bambino, the longest championship drought in baseball was broken by Texas after 62 years.

In 2023, the Korean, American, and Japanese professional baseball is entering its final chapter, with teams that have not won a championship in decades making their mark on the biggest stage.
Following Texas’ success in the United States, Japan’s Hanshin Tigers are closing in on their first Japan Series title in 38 years.

Hanshin, who faced the Orix in the Nippon Series, won Game 5 on the second day of the series to take the series 3-2 and need only one win to win the title. 호텔카지노
Hanshin, the most popular team in Japan’s Kansai region, rivals Tokyo-based Yomiuri as the Central League’s most popular team, but where Yomiuri has won a record 22 Japan Series titles, Hanshin has only won once, in 1985.

After Hiroshima Capps, who won the title in 1984, Hanshin is the oldest team to win the title.

And in South Korea, the last team to make the final stage, the LG Twins are looking to win the Korean Series.

They haven’t been to the Korean Series since 2002, but this year they’ll go straight to the top of the regular season standings and try to win their first title in 29 years, since 1994.
LG, one of the most popular franchises in the KBO, has gone a long time without a championship and is eager to break the streak.
Even as they wait for their opponent to be decided between KT and NC, attention has already turned to the ‘winner’s share’, which has been dormant since 1994, and the ‘Rolex watch’ that will be awarded to the Korean Series MVP.

Coach Yeom Kyung-yup has even offered 10 million won in prize money for the MVP he will choose. If they don’t win, they’ll be in big trouble.
The Korean Series starts on the 7th.

Leave A Comment

Recommended Posts